Originally Posted by NASCAR

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Citizens of this great nation will have many decisions to ponder this fall. And as the calendar flips to November and voting booth curtains swing open, a vital choice must be made. Who’s it going to be? Who will you help win the popular vote?

Simply put, who’s your “Most Popular Driver?”

For the fifth consecutive year, fans can vote online on NASCAR.COM for the 2012 Most Popular Driver in the Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series (Twitter hashtags: #NNSMPD, #NCWTSMPD).

Voting is under way and runs through Nov. 16, prior to the season finale for both national series at Homestead-Miami Speedway during Ford Championship Weekend.

New to this year’s campaign, two lucky fans and their guests will win an all-expenses paid trip to the 2012 Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series Awards on Nov. 19 at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel by registering for the Most Popular Driver Vote Sweepstakes after placing their vote on NASCAR.COM. The sweepstakes is open to fans 18 and older in the 48 continental states. Eligible fans may register once per 24 hours. The sweepstakes entry period ends at 11:59 p.m. ET Nov. 3. The Most Popular Driver winners from both series will be announced at the combined gala event.

For the Nationwide Series, will the incumbent, Elliott Sadler, win again? Or will it be strong candidates like Danica Patrick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Brian Scott or newcomer Austin Dillon? In the Camping World Truck Series, will rookie Ty Dillon follow in his brother’s footsteps and win the series’ Most Popular Driver vote? Or maybe Ron Hornaday can win his third MPD title? There are definitely plenty of options from which fans can to choose.

Each series has a dedicated page on NASCAR.COM for voting. Fans can go to www.NASCAR.COM/nnsmpd for the Nationwide Series and to www.NASCAR.COM/ncwtsmpd for the Camping World Truck Series. Fans are encouraged to vote once per day leading up to the Nov. 16 deadline.

To be eligible to receive votes, drivers must have selected either the Nationwide Series or Camping World Truck Series for their 2012 driver championship points. Additionally, drivers must have attempted at least half of each series’ races this season.

Filed under: NascarRacing News

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!